Monday, November 27, 2006

Blunder of the century? Biggest blunder ever?

Kramnik is Black and White is Fritz.

Position after 34...Qe3?????? 35.Qh7 checkmate! I am speechless!

Deep Fritz(C) - Kramnik [D20]
Kramnik - Deep Fritz Bonn, Germany, 11.27.2006

1.d4 d5 2.c4 dxc4 3.e4 b5 4.a4 c6 5.Nc3 b4 6.Na2 Nf6 7.e5 Nd5 8.Bxc4 e6 9.Nf3 a5 10.Bg5 Qb6 11.Nc1 Ba6 12.Qe2 h6 13.Be3 Bxc4 14.Qxc4 Nd7 15.Nb3 Be7 16.Rc1 0-0 17.0-0 Rfc8 18.Qe2 c5 19.Nfd2 Qc6 20.Qh5 Qxa4 21.Nxc5 Nxc5 22.dxc5 Nxe3 23.fxe3 Bxc5 24.Qxf7+ Kh8 25.Qf3 Rf8 26.Qe4 Qd7 27.Nb3 Bb6 28.Rfd1 Qf7 29.Rf1 Qa7 30.Rxf8+ Rxf8 31.Nd4 a4 32.Nxe6 Bxe3+ 33.Kh1 Bxc1 34.Nxf8 Qe3??? 35.Qh7# The position was somewhat even with 34...Kg8 instead of this horrendous move.

Click here to replay the game but you need to sit down before you do it. Has any reigning World Champion got mated in 1 move before?
Posted by Picasa


Xmas said...

It's a tragedy.
Was gonna get lynched when i relayed the move :S

yevlev said...

So do I!!!!!!!!!

Susan, better is Qe3?*infinity

Vinay said...

It came from nowhere!

- Vinay

dcax said...


Anonymous said... !!!

yevlev said...

It's far beyong his and Topalov's blunders in Elista, and Aronian's blunder against Svidler at the Tal Memorial.

Initially, I thoght that it simply was a DGT board common inaccuracy.

Anonymous said...

Where can I watch the remainder of these games live? Preferably with live discussion of the game. I've been comming to blogs (such as this) to see the results ---but it;s not very real time.

Anonymous said...

Than stay speachless.
You don't cover with analysis game 2 of the match on your blog anyway...So how come your sudden interest??

cmk said...

For a long time I thought
the relay was a typo or
practical joke. Or rather
that's what I was hoping.

Not only does it cost one
The psychological impact of
this blunder will be too
much for Kramnik. I don't
think he can heal on time.
The match is over.

Anonymous said...

Looks like impossible to me...
Did he received $$$ to do such blunder ??

Anonymous said...


what happened to g6?

Anonymous said...

Live Transmission is available at the RAG websiter. Here is the URL

Papyn Chase said...

Fools! He unleashed the dangerous Kramnik Gambit! Fritz will then assume Kramnik's a patzer in the remaining games and gets crushed!

gabor said...

Anonymous said...

Where can I watch the remainder of these games live? Preferably with live discussion of the game. I've been comming to blogs (such as this) to see the results ---but it;s not very real time.

If you have no access to (if you have Fritz, you do), try:

and there click to Livegames, the rest is obvious.


pelle said...

It was the human factor.
We have seen it before
in Harrisburg and Tjernobyl.

Anonymous said...

"Than stay speachless"
It's Susan's blog, she can
say whatever she wants.
And check your own spelling
before you attack someone.

thierrycatalan said...

incredible !!!

Kramnik is the world chess champion...

if Kramnik has played against Kasparov, Karpov, Anand, Kasimzhadov, Ponomariov, Topalov, etc etc ... he never play De3 , and forget the mat in h7 !!

It is a big psychologist problem for Kramnik...

And Chessbase will not be happy to pay one million dollars for a mat in one ....

perhaps a match against Chess Challenger Par Excellence ...will be funny...and cheaper.

Anonymous said...

While I feel bad for the way this game ended, for a patzer like me it is at least a little reassuring that even top Grandmasters can and do commit this kind of blunder.

gabor said...

Wait everybody...wait.

I have a bad feeling. No, I can't believe that Kramnik really just overlooked a mate in one. It is almost a must: he may have come down with some health problem, what was able to "disconnect" his thinking (like a mini-stroke or temporary cerebral ischemia or something along that line). At this point I am concerned about his health.I wouldn't be surprised if the next news would be that he is in a hospital.

Of course, I hope I am wrong.



Anonymous said...

Definitely this will be voted as the winner in a "Worst ever blunder by a world chess champion" contest.

But its okay, at least Kramnik now knows how it feels to lose an otherwise well played game with a blunder that he cannot really explain.

Anonymous said...

A big blunder !! But the biggest one is maybe Chigorin's one against Steinitz ...

Incredible !

Anonymous said...

I like Kramniks play but find this actually quite funny.

I played two games yesterday and was not happy with my play. Now sseing such a player as Kramnik overlook a mate in one helps me put my play in perspective.

It not just that he missed the position on the board but he must not have spotted the threat coming-I always thought these guys never missed these tactics.

Good to be human!

Wild Bill said...

This demonstrates why I am pulling for Kramnik in this match: he's human.

Anonymous said...

This could be the blunder of the century, since this century is fairly new.

Hey, Gad. As for Professionals making blunders, you should watch golf. It happens like every other hole! Haha..


Anonymous said...

I feel very sorry for Kramnik. He must be upset.
If anyone has the chance to
comfort him, tell him that
luckily the blunder took
place against Fritz instead
of in the Topalov match.

Anonymous said...

Big deal.

Why are you so surprised that Kramnik proved he was human?

He blundered yesterday by missing the "obvious" e3...jeez.

Anonymous said...

Can we get a photo of the look on his face when it happened?

Anonymous said...

And yes, he must be very upset....and he has 500,000 reasons to be upset...

Anonymous said...

Hi Susan,

can you believe this? Sometimes reality is better than even the most hostile imagination! Kramnik committed the blunder of the century! Mark this day in your calendar, hail it and praise it, so you never forget how wonderful life can be! Oh, glorious day, what incredible bliss!!

LuisSR said...

Sometimes, when I am obstinated on the analysis of a more complex position, I miss obvious moves than lead to a loss. But it never happened to me with six pieces at my side!

Ellrond said...

Chessbase has 34...Df7

what now?

Anonymous said...

This was posted earlier(few days ago)

Anonymous said...
The photo of Kamnik shows a sad lost forlorn lost soul look as there is no future for him,,,,

Marc Shepherd said...

He blundered yesterday by missing the "obvious" e3...jeez.

You need to look up "blunder" in the dictionary. A blunder is a patently obvious error. I was on at the time, with a bunch of GMs kibbitzing, and nobody saw the potential for e3 as a winning move.

Yes, we now know that e3 was a winner, and it would have deserved ! or perhaps !! if he'd played it. But the failure to play it isn't a blunder.

Anonymous said...

Shame shame shame!!!!!!!!!!!!
We want Topalov, he is the real world champion!!!!!!!

Theodulf said...

I suppose this is an argument that even at the top level, you have to make sure that some little routine in your mind is doing the basic Fred Reinfeld stuff from the beginners' texts: "Has my opponent got a threat? Has my opponent got a check?"

Are blunders like this something people do, or are they something that happen to people? Maybe the latter. Brains just aren't perfect. Even good ones. One day you lose concentration for a minute and you find that you've put your dirty socks in the refrigerator instead of the washing machine. Why did you do it? Why did you lose concentration? Is there a "why" to it?

Anonymous said...

Guys, in reality Kramnik decided to end it quickly because he had to rush to the hotel to watch the Champions League - he does not know the League is over.
Now I will sign for a simul against Kramnik and try the Legal mate :))
I am sure Kramnik will never teach his children to play chess in order to try to keep this hidden.
In turn, Kasparov will now write a new book - "My Lame Successor"
After this, Kramnik is seriously considering switching to checkers now

The true story is that Kramnik played 34...Qe3 and immediately ran to the toilet to evaluate his winning chances (as usual), then his Pocket Fritz said - "sorry, I gave you a bad advice in the previus move.. he"
After that, Kramnik showed up to the press conference with his iPod playing this tune that goes "I am only human, of flesh and blood I'm made"

Bulgaria will declare a public holiday tomorrow - Laughter Day and Topa will cut the ribbon.
Topa and Danailov are getting drunk tonite!

Sad, sad... even my TV remote saw the mate :)
They say "Come on, he is human!" well, you don't need make it so evident anyway :)

A Kramnik fan said that he was actually trying to prove his theory that appeared in Chessbase, saying 'Fritz punishes you immediately'. Now he is happy because he was proved right :)

Deep Fritz team is making changes now to 1.e4 2.Bc4 and 3.Qf3 in his next white game :)

He is getting paid a lot of money to play like this?? I can produce moves like this for way less - hello ChessBase! :)

Chess is pretty much dead if this is our world champion.

f. mulder said...

May be the psychic from Topalov's team sought a revenge and shut Kramnik's mind on move 34 :DD

gk said...

C'mooon,don't be naive and believe World Champ oversaw mate in 1!
I think Kramnik estimated game was win for Fritz and wanted to save himself further torture.
Certainly.he did that in spectacular way.

Anonymous said...

There is one great benefit for all of us human patzers. If we ever shall lose a game because of a mayor blunder we shall remember that such a thing even can happened to a world champion like Victor Kramnik.

So why worry ....

Anonymous said...


Anonymous said...

I Dubbed this "The Blunder Of The Century"


Anonymous said...

How many of us have done this--assessed a position, noting a big danger rightoff the bat and then moving on to consider options, and then moved without remembering the original danger, no matter how obvious?

This is a common occurence in chess

hoddy said...
This comment has been removed by a blog administrator.
Anonymous said...

Deep Fritz team is making changes now to 1.e4 2.Bc4 and 3.Qf3 in his next white game :)

I preffer 3.Qh5 - much stronger IMO.

Anonymous said...

This just goes to prove that Cram-nick can't play unless a computer is helping him out in a rest room someplace

D Clark said...

I feel sorry for Kramnik after this. We all make catastrophic mistakes from time to time in our games but Kramnik has the whole world looking on. I hope all those smug gloaters out there take a moment to reflect on their own silly mistakes, both in chess and real life. Perhaps you might realize that we are all, after all, human.

Anonymous said...

It's sad to see this sort of error: I advocated a blunder-guard on the 'human' side of man-machine matches before the event.
It appears that Kramnik has largely outplayed the machine in both games (if we ignore Qe3??). He seems to be able to seed strategic advantages which then grow to winning positions. That's impressive and I expect him to win.
I doubt if FRITZ10 is on terms with RYBKA 2.1: FRITZ09 is 106 ELO points behind RYBKA 1.2 in the SSDF 'league'.

AlexSE said...

I think Kramnik did not take enough time to think before each move. I remember his winning move against Topalov in the rapid chess game #4. It was so obvious and yet he thought rather long untill he made it. Now he did not take his time.
I guess that is what he will do again in games to come "if you see a good move (Qe3), wait, there might be a better one (Kg8)"

I bet that after Qe3 Kramnik thought he was winning. He headed for the resting room because he thought Fritz might need some time to think on his brilliant move.


jimMD said...

he knew the game was headed towards a draw within next few moves.......and was simply thinking about his beautiful girlfriend and what he planned to take her out to eat tomorrow lol. This is not the biggest deal in the world. ive seen far more ridden tragedies in the world. oh well!

Anonymous said...

Come on people. This is just a simple plain oversight due to complacency.

Kramnik was playing well at this point before his blunder. He had the false sense of security in his position that thinks he was winning, and missed this mate.
Happens in any game.

This kind of blunders commonly occurs too when one plays the faceless and emotionless machines.

On the other hand me thinks Kramnik has problems too with his peripheral
vision, since the mating square was on the extreme h7 square.

Anonymous said...

kramnik sucks

Anonymous said...

Don't despair, folks. This is just a technical glitch. Kramnik lost connection with the internet in his toilet.

Anonymous said...

So, after farce in Russia, now we have for WC one idiot. This match became tragedy for chessbase Fritz dealers and for this cheater "Minister of defence" - great minister, great defence.....

faj said...

It's normal, after the opening, Kramnik cannot use the database ! ;o)

Faj said...

The toilet trick did not work this time ;o)

Chesss44 said...

Of course, Kramnik shoudn't be reigning World Champion, Kasparov should be. But Kramnik made very, very VERY sure that Kasparov was never ever able to get a rematch.

Anonymous said...

This will probably go down along with the Queen hang in the Petrosian-Bronstein game.

I still think that one was bigger, though. That happened in a Candidates Tournament, rather than just an exhibition match.

Anonymous said...

>>Of course, Kramnik shoudn't be reigning World Champion, Kasparov should be. But Kramnik made very, very VERY sure that Kasparov was never ever able to get a rematch.

Uh, no. Kasparov did that himself. He signed a contract saying that he'd have to re-qualify for a title shot if he lost, and then refused to re-qualify. If he'd wanted a direct rematch he should have just put it in the contract in the first place.

He wanted to be thought of as the kind of champ who didn't need an advantage like that. Unfortunately he was. He should have just been up front about the fact.

Graeme said...

>Has any reigning World Champion got mated in 1 move before?

Not a reigning World Champion, but Petrosian overlooked a mate in 1 in Game 1 of his 1974 match with Korchnoi. He was in big time trouble, and lost over the board anyway, though.

Korchnoi returned the favor and got mated by Petrosian (again in a dead lost position) in Game 6 of their 1977 match.

Graeme said...

gk said:
>C'mooon,don't be naive and >believe World Champ oversaw mate >in 1! I think Kramnik estimated >game was win for Fritz and wanted >to save himself further torture.

Since the position was drawn, doesn't that positively disprove your theory?

Chesss44 said...

To anonymous 10:30:51 AM

I'm afraid you have been misled by pro-Kramnik propaganda.

Kasparov did not insert a rematch clause into the contract because he considered such a clause unfair, having suffered it himself against Karpov (he had to play the 1986 match under such a clause).

As for Kasparov refusing to qualify, Kramnik insisted on the qualification being the absurd Dortmund 2002 event, the format of which was based on the FIDE Championships which the hypocrite Kramnik had previously (and was also to do so again afterwards) condemned! Kasparov quite rightly refused to play in this charade; this was exactly Kramnik's intention, he knew the event was unacceptable.
Two years later, Kramnik said he would not play the winner of a Kasparov-Kasimdzhanov match, thus breaking the Prague agreement which he had signed.
Kramnik is a very unethical person second in the chess world only to Ilyumzhinov.

Anonymous said...

According to the German version of chessbase (
Steinitz was mated in 1 by an American (Voight) in Philidelphia 1885 (one year before Steinitz became WC).

François said...

Well , that is called Fatigue ...

Nothing more to say about this , except that we shouldn't draw any other conclusion than that , even the best player can be tired and make a mistake , well the mistake word is too weak .

wunboonail said...

I am a 1500 player and play on ICC. I blunder like that against the computer all the time. It is a fair win for Fritz

Anonymous said...

I don't understand the shadenfreude of some of the people on this blog. Why relish in a great player's suffering... these are people who create works of art that leave us speechless and constantly people belittle them, whether it be Kramnik or Topalov. I simply do not understand it.

Anonymous said...

>>I don't understand the shadenfreude of some of the people on this blog. Why relish in a great player's suffering... these are people who create works of art that leave us speechless and constantly people belittle them, whether it be Kramnik or Topalov. I simply do not understand it.

Not too complicate.

People belittle Topalov because he broke FIDE Ethics Rules, which prohibit making public accusations against fellow players or sponsors, and in so doing, disgraced the game (in the ACP's words), and made it harder to get sponsors.

And people belittle Kramnik out of sour grapes. They were rooting for Topalov and he not only lost the match, he lost his reputation and will now forever be an icon of bad sportsmanship. An OTB defeat is one thing, but nobody was prepared for a defeat of that magnituted. For anyone who was rooting for him, it must be a pretty bitter pill to swallow. Hence, they try to shift the blame. Not very nice, but easy to understand.

Anonymous said...

ahhh very lucid.
I think you're right.
sad that it should come to that.
ahh well... it's amazing what Kramnik's acheived this year against the odds... he sure must have impressive willpower.

Anonymous said...

How can it be done?


End of human chess? The Last Match?

I dont think so.

Albert H.Alberts, Amsterdam,NL

Anonymous said...

I love you Susan!

Grayngle said...

it was a horrible mistake!! how he can challange Vishy for title!

Anonymous said...

You are a great player Susan Polgar. I'm really proud! Please keep the good work to inspire everyone! Thank you

leonator said...

No matter how high your ELO is, you're still human.
It's also childish, yet still human to ride around on a blunder like that.
This post is not a blunder of that magnitude, but a very bad strategy to hide your fear of being stomped in the ground by the mighty Kramnik in your next game :D

Zevantuf Mantièr said...

Two days ago I made a Blunder:

Event "someone will make a Big Blunder!"]
[Site ""]
[Date "2012.10.02"]
[White "enjoyvip"]
[Black "Defence4Gizchehs"]
[Result "1-0"]
[WhiteElo "1579"]
[BlackElo "unknown"]
[TimeControl "1 in 14 days"]
[Termination "enjoyvip won by resignation"]

1.e4 e6 2.d4 d5 3.e5 c5 4.Bb5+ Nc6 5.c3 Bd7 6.Ba4 Qb6 7.Bxc6 Bxc6 8.Nf3 Ne7 9.O-O Bb5 10.Re1 Ba6
11.Be3 Nc6 12.b3 h6 13.Qc2 O-O-O 14.dxc5 Bxc5 15.Bxc5 Qxc5 16.b4 Nxb4 17.Qd2 Nd3 18.Re3 Qb5 19.Na3 Qa5 20.Nc2 Nb2
21.Ree1 Na4 22.Nb4 Bc4 23.Nd4 Rd7 24.Rab1 Rc7 25.a3 Nc5 26.Qb2 Nd3 27.Nxd3 Bxd3 28.Rbc1 Kb8 29.Re3 Ba6 30.g3 Rc5
31.Nb3 Qb6 32.Rb1 Rc4 33.Rf3 Qc7 34.Nd4 Rc5 35.Nb3 Rc4 36.Qd2 Rc8 37.Rc1 Re4 38.Re3 Qxe5 39.Rf3 Re2 40.Qf4 Re1+

Since then I focussed more on ( Personal )anti-Blunder Techniques and lick my wounds with looking upon the Blunders of GrandMasters.

I get really discouraged after a Blunder, and for that day, I cannot perform in Chess anymore as my Chess-Morale is too low. I get kind of bored in Chess right after a Blunder, while I am actually very Fanatic in Chess.

I think by myself: '' Am I really that good in Chess..? '' And then recently I came up with the counter-thought: '' Would Anatoli Karpov asked himself this Question when he made a Blunder against Viswanathan Anand in the Opening-Stage..? ''

Thank you Susan Polgar, for adding no Character Limit.
I can Write a lot (...)!