Tuesday, June 09, 2009
New rule. Good or bad? You decide.
FIDE has implemented the new rule about players arriving to tournament late.
It used to be that players are forfeited after being late for one hour. Now, players are forfeited immediately, even if they are late for only seconds. GM Hou Yifan arrived 5 seconds late to her board during one of the rounds at the 2009 Chinese Championship and she was forfeited.
Similar situations happened at the 2008 Dresden Olympiad when this was implemented.
How do you feel about the new rule? Is it a good idea to forfeit players for being late, even for just seconds, or is it too strict?