Friday, October 05, 2012

Indonesia Open 2012

The Indonesia Open Chess Championship will be held held from 10-17 October 2012 at the Puri Ratna Convention Hall, Level 2, Grand Sahid Jaya Hotel, Jakarta.

Once again organized by PERCASI (All Indonesia Chess Federation) with sponsorship from its President Hashim Djojohadikusumo, this year’s second edition builds upon last year’s highly successful inaugural event with a top class, diverse and representative field of old and young talent, both male and female, from as many as 18 countries!

Our congratulations to PERCASI which has certainly put together one of the best International Open tournament seen in Asia in 2012!

Official website / Live games / Live with analysis

See photo gallery from Indonesia Open 2011 here

Indonesia does chess in the grandest possible fashion and no one who has ever played in an international tournament there will ever forget the experience, so the 27 Grandmasters playing including 9 rated 2600+ will be looking forward to the competition in more ways than one!

Top seeded will be Ivan Sokolov from the Nederlands but he will have serious competition from last year’s winner Li Chao and Yu Yangyi from China while Vlad Tkachiev representing France, the KL open 2009 winner Nguyen Ngoc Truong Son, the winner of Heart of Finland 2012 Jaan Ehlverst now playing for the USA, India’s Surya Sekhar Ganguly and the large delegation from the Philippines of Oliver Barbosa, Rogelio Antonio, John Paul Gomez, Mark Paragua, Darwin Laylo, Eugene Torre and Richard Bitoon will also be looking to be winners.

Local hero Susanto Megaranto will lead Indonesia’s challenge and the former World Cup qualifier will have all of the top Indonesia players for company including veterans Saidikin Irwanto, Denny Juswanto, Cerdas Barus, Ronny Gunawan, Awan Wahono, Nasib Ginting, Dede Lioe, Herman Ardiansyah, Salor Sitanggang, and Tirto.

Young Indonesian talent will also be on show, led by Olympian Tirta Chandra Purnama, Asain Continental Champion Irine Kharisma Sukandar and Brunei Open winner Andika Pitra amongst many others.

1 comment:

Anonymous said...

Will they invite Nakamura?