Tuesday, October 23, 2012

Unbeaten champion in Nagpur Chess

Ziaur unbeaten champion in Nagpur Chess

Grandmaster Ziaur Rahman of Bangladesh made the country proud as he emerged as unbeaten champion in the NIT Nagpur Grandmasters Chess Tournament-2012 held at Nagpur, India Tuesday, reports BSS.

Bangladesh chess prodigy, Zia accumulated 9 points out of 11 games to clinch the tile.

However Bangladesh star Zia and GM Aleksej Aleksandrov of Belarus both finished at 9 points each.

In the tie-breaking system Zia got 77 Buchholz score to emerge as champion and Aleksandrov became runner-up.

The other position occupied by other Bangladesh players are GM Abdullah Al Rakib who finished at 14th and GM Enamul Hossain Razib had to remain satisfied with 6th. Both of them earned 7.5 points each.

IM Minhazuddin Ahmed Sagar became 26th with 7 points, FM Md. Taibur Rahman became 44th, FM Mehdi Hasan Parag became 47th, FM DEbaraj Chatterjee became 48th and FM Sk. Nasir Ahmed became 50th. Taibur, Parag, Debaraj and Nasir earned 6r points each. IM Abu Sufian Shakil became 68th with 6 points and WIM Shamima Akter Liza became 102th with 5 points. 11th.

In the last round games Zia drew with IM Ankit Rajpara of India, Rakib drew with IM Udeshi Aditya of India, Razib beat Gusain Hemal of India, Sagar lost to IM Himanshu Sharma of India, DEbaraj drew with IM Vishnu Prasanna of India, Taibur drew with IM Akshayraj Kore of India, Shakil drew with Pratik Patil of India, Parag beat Krishna Thapa of Nepal, Nasir beat WFM Chandika Divyasree of India and Liza lost to Harikrishna S.R. of India.

A total of 168 players from 10 countries including 17 grandmasters, 28 International Masters, 2 Women Grandmasters and 2 Women International Masters participated in the event.

Source: http://www.thefinancialexpress-bd.com