Friday, December 21, 2012

2012 PanAm at Princeton University

Ivy League and other top universities

The 2012 PanAm Intercollegiate Championship (also known as the World Series of College Chess) will take place at Princeton University on December 27-30. More than 30 top college teams are expected to compete for the prestigious national title.

There will be 3 universities from Missouri (Webster, Lindenwood, and Wash U) competing. Below is the list of some of the top teams entering this year's national championship:

Webster University
University of Chicago
NY University
Penn State
University of Texas (Dallas)
University of Texas (Austin)
University of Texas (Brownsville)
Texas Tech
University of Maryland Baltimore County
Arizona State
Washington University in St. Louis
Lindenwood University
Miami-Dade University
University of Toronto, etc.

The first PanAm Intercollegiate Chess Championship took place in NY in 1946. The top 4 finishing teams from the PanAm will qualify for the Final Four which will take place around the beginning of April 2013 in Washington DC.

Webster University will be sending 3 teams this year to the PanAm. Here are our tentative lineups:

Team 1

GM Georg Meier (Captain)
GM Wesley So
GM Manuel Leon Hoyos  
GM Fidel Corrales Jimenez
GM Anatoly Bykhovsky (Co-Captain)

Team 2

GM Ray Robson
GM Andre Diamant
GM Denes Boros
IM Vitaly Neimer

Team 3

FM Jake Banawa
WIM Inna Agrest
Maraani Kamphorst
Vanita Young
Paul M. Truong


Anonymous said...

Texas will win.

Anonymous said...

Texas will win.