Thursday, June 20, 2013

ACO World Amateur Chess Championship

ACO World Amateur Chess Championship Crete 2013 (No related and independent from FIDE)

The ACO World Amateur Chess Championship took place on Crete from 11-20 May. 168 players with ages between 7 to 94 fought for the title of ACO World Champion in the 4-star all-Inclusive hotel Aquis Arina Sand.

Players from 26 countries, among them Australia, Venezuela, Malaysia and the US took part in the championship.

In the first ACO World Championship in Dubai in 2012 there were 72 players, in 2013 it were already more than twice this number.

The venue of the event was the award-winning 4-star all-Inclusive Hotel Aquis Arina Sand, providing the playing hall featuring a beautiful view on the sea.

All games started at 10 AM in the morning providing enough time in the in the afternoon for quality time with family and friends at the beach.

The first board of each group played on the stage.

Chess is really a game for all ages: In the 4th round of the G-group the youngest participant Anna Erdösi, 7 years old, played against the oldest one, Käte Eggebrecht, who took part in their first tournament and gained respectable 3,5 points.

Besides the championship there was a nice side program, e.g. trips to the local sights, such as the Platheau of Lassithi and the costal towns Rethymno and Agios Nikolaos. The group trips were guided by very friendly tourist guides who made learning about the culture of Crete fun. In the evenings blitz and team-blitz ournaments were organized with more than 100 players each.

World Champion in the A-group (2200-2400): IM John Arnie Nilssen from the Faröer Islands

World Champion in the B-group (2000-2200) Alan Minnican from Scotland

World Champion in the C-group: Peter Jeute from Germany

World Champion in the D-group (1600-1800): Jamie Funnell from England

World Champion in the E-group (1400-1600): Antonio Maset from Argentina

World Champion in the F-group (1200-1400): Jeremy Law from England

World Champion in the G-group (0-1200): Oleg Binder from Russia who travelled a long way from Siberia

All ACO-World Champions and the organizers Lothar Hirneise, GM Falko Bindrich, IM Tobias Hirneise

7 players received a special distinction for promoting the ACO and the World Championship in the last 12 months. They received the ACO Amabassador Award 2013.

The next ACO World Amateur Chess Championship is taking place from 07-16 June, 2014 on the island of Rhodes, Greece, in a complex of 4 and 5 star hotels. All hotels are in immediate distance to the 1000 sqm playing hall. There are already more than 100 registered players for next year's edition. The ACO is offering special conditions for registrations till 15 September, 2013.

Photos of the playing hall:

Photos of the prize-giving ceremony and galadinner:

Official tournament site:

All results:

Report on the ACO World Championship 2012 in Dubai:

Regulations for the ACO World Amateur Chess Championship 2014 on Rhodes:

1 comment:

Anonymous said...

Fantastic. But they should pay a fee to join FIDE.