Wednesday, April 23, 2014

Sydney International Chess Open 2014

The Sydney International Open is taking place from 22st to 27th April, 2014 at Parramatta Town Hall, in Sydney, the most populous city of Australia.

The event is a 9 round Open tournament with cash prizes totaling 14,200 $. The time control is 90 minutes for the first 40 moves followed by 30 minutes for the rest of the game plus 30 sec per move from move 1.

Last year’s winner GM Loek Van Wely is here to defend the title.

It’s a busy month for Australian organizers, as Doeberl Cup 2014 in Canberra finished only a day before the start of Sydney International Open.

Games will be live daily on Chessdom with the innovative triple engine analysis by Chessdom Chess Arena and the top engines of the world’s strongest computer chess championship TCEC.

Official website/ Live games with analysis

List of participants (top seeds):

1 GM Nisipeanu Liviu-Dieter GER 2686
2 GM Van Wely Loek NED 2685
3 GM Melkumyan Hrant ARM 2633
4 GM Vajda Levente ROU 2597
5 GM Roy Chowdhury Saptarshi IND 2491
6 IM Ly Moulthun AUS 2440
7 GM Johansen Darryl K. AUS 2400
8 FM Izzat Kanan AZE 2383
9 IM Morris James AUS 2377
10 IM Solomon Stephen J. AUS 2369

1 comment: