Tuesday, May 13, 2014

ECU Election: It's official, Dainalov vs Azmaiparashvili!

Within the set deadline, the ECU office received two candidacies for the President with the members of the tickets, as well as seven individual candidacies for the Board members of the European Chess Union.

The following nominations have been received:

A) Ticket of Silvio Danailov:
President Silvio Danailov, Bulgaria
Deputy President Joran Aulin-Jansson, Norway
Vice President Horst Metzing, Germany
Secretary General Sava Stoisavljevic, Serbia
Treasurer Almog Burstein, Israel

B) Ticket of Zurab Azmaiparashvili:
President Zurab Azmaiparashvili, Georgia
Deputy President Ion Serban Dobronauteanu, Romania
Vice President Finnbjorn Vang, Faroe Islands
Secretary General Theodoros Tsorbatzoglou, Greece
Treasurer Martin Huba, Slovakia

C) Nominations for Board members besides the combined tickets:
Johann Pocksteiner, Austria
Robert Zsifkovits, Austria (nominated by Georgian Chess Federation)
Theodoros Tsorbatzoglou, Greece
Gunnar Bjornsson, Iceland
Jean-Michel Rapaire, Monaco
Adrian Mikhalchishin, Slovenia (nominated by Ukrainian Chess Federation)
Kurt Gretener, Switzerland

All nominees belonging to one of the two tickets are automatically eligible for one of the 3 additional board members as well (in the case of not being elected with the ticket).

1 comment:

Anonymous said...

Danailov will win. He has the support of Kasparov.